Mahalaxmi Temple

About Mahalaxmi Temple
Vital Information for Visitors

Mahalaxmi Temple, Bhulabhai Desai Road in Mahalakshmi area, Mumbai, Maharashtra

Open & Close:

Everyday-6:00 AM – 10:00 PM

Entry Fees:



1 hr

Aarti Schedule :

Morning Aarti - 7 AM to 7:20 AM

Dhoop Aarti - 6:30 PM to 6:40 PM

Main Aarti -7:30 PM to 7:50 PM



Facing the sea, in the Bhulabhai Desai Road, is the Mahalaxmi Temple. The deity, the Goddess of Prosperity, draws great crowds. The race course near it, known as the Mahalakshmi Race Course, is the finest in the East. Mahalakshmi Temple is one of the most famous temples in Mumbai. The temple was built by Dhakji Dadaji in 1831. The construction history of the temple is related with the construction of Hornby Vellard. There was a plan to connect Mahalakshmi area with the Worli by making Breach Candy but due to the vicious tides engineers were not able to execute the plan. The wall built earlier was damaged two times by high and forceful tides. The construction team was in despair and had almost decided to quit this project. One day Goddess Mahalakshmi came into the dream of the chief engineer Ramji Shivji Prabhu and said him to make a shrine at the current place and hence the construction of this temple was started; and with the construction of this temple the connecting plan of breach candy was successful in that area.

There are three deities in the temple - Mahakali, Mahalakshmi and Mahasaraswati. The statues of deities are decorated with bangles in hands, necklaces in necks and nose pins in noses. The statue of Mahalakshmi is in the middle and is made so that it holds a lotus in its hand. According to Sankhya Darshan of Hindu Philosophy, our universe’s creation is the result of togetherness of ‘Purusha’ and ‘Prakrati’. Purusha represents Parabrahma and Prakrati means Nature. Prakrati is considered ‘Trigunatamka’ consisting three Gunas (characteristics): Sattvik Guna, Rajas Guna and Tamasic Guna. The three deities in this shrine are considered as representing these three Gunas - Mahasaraswati for Sattvik Guna, Mahalakshmi for Rajas Guna, and Mahakali for Tamas Guna. The deities are worshipped according to their specialty.

The festival of Navratri is celebrated here in a magnificent way. The nine days are divided in a group of three days and one deity is worshipped in one group of days. In first group of days Mahakali is worshipped, in second group of days Mahalakshmi and in third one Mahasaraswati is worshipped. Except Navratri many other festivals like Deepawali, Tulsi Vivah, Rakshabandhan, Shri Krishna Janmashtami etc. are also celebrated in this temple. On every ‘Ashtami’ according to Hindu months, monthly ‘havan’ (yajna) is held by the trust and if some devotee want to perform special ‘havan’, ‘mahapooja’, ‘abhishek’ or ‘archan’, they can do by paying specified fees/ donation. Mahalaxmi Temple is managed by a trust - Shree Mahalakshmi Temple Charities. The trust is actively involved in many social activities like relief to the poor, scholarship to the poor and needy students, donations etc.

Mahalakshmi Station is the nearest station for the temple. One can go by bus or by hiring auto or cab too. Nearby attractions near Mahalaxmi Temple are Mumba Devi Temple & Haji Ali Dargah.

Mumbai Tour Packages

Exotic India Tour

Exotic India Tour

19 Nights / 20 Days
Destination : Delhi- Varanasi-Khajuraho-Agra-Jaipur-Jodhpur-Udaipur-Mumbai-Ajanta Ellora- Mahabalipuram- Puducherri- Tanjore- Madurai- Kumarakom - Cochin

 Best of India Tour

Best of India Tour

25 Nights / 26 Days
Destination : Mumbai- Udaipur- Jodhpur-Jaisalmer-Nagaur-Pushkar-Jaipur- Agra- Gwalior- Orchha-Khajuraho- Varanasi-Ajanta - Ellora-Kovalam- Alleppey - Cochin

Central India Cultural Heritage Tour

Central India Cultural Heritage Tour

11 Nights / 12 Days
Destination : Delhi – Bhopal – Bhimbetka- Sanchi- Udaygiri-Ujjain – Maheshwar – Mandu – Omkareshwar – Burhanpur – Ajanta- Aurangabad – Ellora-Mumbai

Golden Triangle with Ajanta Ellora Mumbai Tour

Golden Triangle with Ajanta Ellora Mumbai Tour

7 Nights / 8 Days
Destination : Delhi-Agra-Fatehpur Sikri-Abhaneri-Jaipur- Ajanta- Ellora – Mumbai

View All

Enquire Now

Enquire Now